Highway…

I like highways. People are different and life is slower hours away from cities. Things don’t get repaired and there are many things left to time. The highways between Los Angeles and Las Vegas are hours of desert, dotted with small towns and truck stops. They are also lined with old billboards that sit, strangely, a fair way back from the road. I needed a pretty long lens to shoot these out of a moving car (I wasn’t driving). The signs pertain to odd places and things. The companies that put them up are probably long gone. Do the radio stations advertised still work? Is the resort still there? If I drive 2 miles off the freeway, will I find that diner? The Ron Paul billboard was just straight up weird. Yes indeed, people are strange…. Click on an image to see a larger version.

