Blood, sweat and hair

I was invited to shoot metal legends Machine Head for a few magazine covers in Australia. So I bundled off to Connecticut for the Metal Mayhem Festival, excited to be backstage and to see Megadeth. My plan was to shoot the portrait at about 1pm before they sound checked, drop my gear back to the car, take a couple of cameras and get a few live shots during the day of different bands, some crowd portraits,  get some live shots of Megadeth then leave. However fate had other plans. A light SOMEWHERE in the car I rented (I’m guessing) stayed on (despite driving during the day with nothing illuminated) killing the battery.Traversing the parking lot (rent the movie Heavy Metal Parking Lot and you’ll get the idea) for a pair if jumper cables is not as easy as you’d think. In a word fruitless. In the meantime Machine Head’s tour bus had broken down causing them to be four hours late. Complete mis-communication from the bands camp meant someone finally came and got me as they were going on. Solution was to get set up lights amidst the trucks and gear behind the stages of this mammoth festival and shoot them after they came off, all sweaty, amped up and crashing from the adrenaline rush. I had them for just over 5 minutes (amazing what you can get when under the gun) and I think I did pretty well. Their drummer enjoyed doing Crocodile hunter impersonations to highlight my accent. Alas, I had to forgo shooting live. The average door security can be a pain in the ass and despite having about a half dozen media and AAA passes round my neck they still gave me the ‘if you leave you can’t come back in’ shtick, and I’ll be fucked if I was going to cart my gear (three cases) round the dust into the photo pit with kids coming over the barrier. And I had to take my chances with getting the car jump started before the end of the show. Luckily a nice parking attendant helped me out and I was on my way. Pissed off that I had to miss Megadeth, but with a good cover shot in the can. And people think shooting musicians is glamorous…

