Shooting the Kanye launch….

13474I got a call on a very rainy afternoon a few weeks ago by Milk Studios’ social media director asking me to come and shoot a super secret event. I had planned to stay in and catch up on some movies as it had been weeks since I had put my feet up and shooting The Governor’s Ball festival had exhausted me. BUT she promised me it would be worth it, she just couldn’t tell me what was going on. Sure, I sad. Turning up I discovered it was to be Kanye West’s listening party / launch of his new album Yeezus, with folks like Jay Z, Beyonce, Timbaland, Busta Rhymes, Theophilus London and a few other notables in attendance. It was a very private affair, fans lining up outside to catch a glimpse and a listen. It was odd to formally meet Kanye, despite eyeing me and other lower life forms as if we were bugs needing to be squashed, but I found Jay Z a perfect gentleman, and he patted me on the shoulder grinning that he liked me calling him Mr. Jay Z. Oh and Beyonce is utterly perfect in real life. It was an eclectic crowd of fashionista hip hop kids sizing up each others Hood By Air apparel, curious music journalists, and girls hoping to find their way to an after party. It’s a funny world…13476Boyle_MM_Kanye_10 Boyle_MM_Kanye_08 Boyle_MM_Kanye_05

